North Face Endurance Challenge Marathon Relay 2012

race area
Due to unprecedented rainstorms in the Bay Area, the NFEC this year was one wet, muddy adventure. There was not a dry foot in sight. We lucked out with relatively mild temps (low 60’s) and no rain by the time our event began (11 a.m.). There was a slight tailwind going uphill that translated into a headwind coming down. The true challenge was the slippery sloshy terrain at the top and on the descent. I now know what it feels like to inadvertently glissade down a trail at 85% effort. It’s a miracle I didn’t do a face plant or pop a joint.

“HILL ME NOW” TEAM STATS
Finish time
4:14:33 (22nd out of 59)
Splits (6.56-mile legs)
1:08:28
1:03:13
1:02:18 (me)
1:00:37

I was thrilled with my time since I was not in great form going into this race. A pesky recurring virus took me down every 10 or so days between mid-October and 5 days before the event. Then a surprise episode of vertigo 6 days beforehand made me wonder if I should run at all. In the end I decided to go for it because I was tired of being a sloth. I set modest goals to have fun, complete the ascent without stopping, make it through unscathed, and match or better my time from two years ago (1:06:28). All were met. It was a great day. Thank you, running gods.

NFEC marathon relay elevationwaitingIMG_2298



IMG_2294IMG_2291All donebefore

after

Our shoes before…and after

4 thoughts on “North Face Endurance Challenge Marathon Relay 2012

  1. Wow! That’s amazing! Nice work Tita.

    Also, a high school friend got 3rd in the 50-miler … super tall guy with white blonde hair. I wonder if you two saw each other!

    • Thanks, Lauren. It was a blast. I’m still picking embedded dirt out of my toe nails. I did not see your friend, the 50-mile racer. With the small field and that description, I definitely would have noticed him. He probably finished before I even started, if he was that fast. Congrats to him!

Leave a Reply

