Mission complete… for now

It is the first day of November. Two weeks after the marathon. I am now cleared to return to my normal running routine. It has occurred to me often during the stillness of the past 14 days that exactly 5 years ago I was bedridden in a hospital for what would turn out to be 7 weeks. The quest then was to lie still and save my baby. Who would have thought that 5 years later, I would turn around and spend half a day running?

Life is full of irony. Full of celebration and mourning. Achievement and loss. Often simultaneously…

My dear, amazing friend Heather has passed all her post-treatment tests with flying colors.

Every scan and every scope. Yes, she did it. By all accounts, as of now, she beat her cancer. Sadly, though, Heather’s mom, Deb, lost her husband to liver cancer just last week. He had been fighting for a long time. I never knew Blackie but I’m told he brought boundless joy to Deb’s life, and was very much loved by Deb, Heather and her sister Beth. I wish them strength and peace.

You have contributed over $5000 to cancer research

… in honor of Heather or someone you love who has been touched by cancer. Thank you for your phenomenal generosity. Thank you for sharing your stories with me and letting me honor your loved ones on my run. It has been heartwarming to reconnect with many of you, and to get to know some of you better. As you can see, the work is not yet done. Let’s keep fighting cancer in whatever way we can, large or small. Let’s keep showing that we care.

What we think we can, we will. What we think we can’t, we won’t.

My first marathon was an experience that I won’t soon forget. I learned a lot from it but the biggest lesson of all was nothing new: we can do almost anything if we will it. I do see another marathon in my future. For the love of running, and for wanting to take care of some unfinished business. If any of you has ever toyed with the idea of running one but shied away, call me. I will give you a thousand reasons why you should, the first being that if I can do it, you can too. Don’t ever let anyone tell you you can’t. Whatever it is you dream of. Say it with me: yes, I can.

Leave a Reply

